Okay, so this is 2, count ’em, 2 posts on my first day. But mostly because my friend wrote something nice about how I torture her. Go see! There’s a bunny with one leg.

Ravin's Rantings

For years and years, my dear friend Alice has been telling me her tales. She is a great writer, and even in middle school had a knack for characterization.

She subtly uses this talent to torment me, her bestest friend. When I was in the Navy, she would send me letters and then emails, with a chapter or two of her latest story. Over the years, she has used her ability to make me impatient as a gauge for how well the story is going. As I’ve gotten older and more discriminating, she’s kept up (or stayed ahead), and has a savvy knack for pacing.

Now, she  may just get around to submitting her work for publication one of these decades. Until then, I feel privileged to be her sounding board and will continue to enjoy the state of perpetual frustration.

View original post

6 responses

  1. Well, you’ve gotta like that. What a nice post. 🙂

  2. Isn’t that just lovely

    1. She was my best and only reader for a while. She’s the best.

  3. My best friend sends me the chapters of her book!! People like you and her make emails so fun 🙂

    1. People like you who read them make writing them all worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

