NaNoWri. . . Eh, Challenge, Day One!

I am pumped, people!  It’s day one of the write a post a day in October!  Wait – it’s November.  Whatever.  I also forgot the complete name of the challenge.  But that’s okay, because I am focused, guys.  I have this thing in the bag! 

Now all I have to do is write a post.  It should be interesting.  I just know I have an idea somewhere.   Now what was I going to write about?

Oh, yeah, that’s it.

I, uh, think people don’t fully appreciate nothing.  We can’t be everything all the time.  So someone or something has to be nothing.  It’s simple Physics.  Like how eventually this post must end but I don’t know how to . . . hey, look at that!  Squirrel!

‘Sup?

 

28 responses

  1. Just keep posting that squirrel picture all month and you’re golden.

    1. It wouldn’t be like me to recycle pictures . . . shut UP Sad Pony! Can’t wait to see your awesome post!

  2. “I’m doing nothing” is one of my favourite sentences.

  3. Yes! Nothing is something. Can’t go wrong with a squirrel.

    1. I love squirrels. They should really be our university’s mascot. They’re freaking everywhere, and they have no fear.

  4. This is how conversations with my mom start 9 times out of 10:

    *ring ring*

    Mom: Hey.

    Me: Hi mom.

    Mom: What are you doing?

    Me: Nothing.

    Mom: Nothing? You’re just standing there frozen?

    1. No, apparently I’m talking to you. Snort. I suppose you could say you’re converting oxygen into carbon dioxide or something. Or nothing. Squirrel!

      My post is nothing compared to the awesomeness of the Jen. She’s in the challenge too so check her out anyone reading this comment! Unless you came here from there, in which case you should go back again! Or I’ll keep using exclamation points!

  5. I’ve got a slow start. 250 words so far. Just a slow beginning…that’s all. You know, I’m doing the NaNo. I feel like this post….you’ve captured it beautifully. But the day is young!

    1. They say in the “rules” you can’t just write one word over and over. So you have to write Nothing something nothing something etc. There’s a loophole in everything. Or you could make your story about a squirrel. Part of me wants to join just because I’d know more people in it. Then the rest of me says I’m out of my mind.

      1. A good idea…something, then nothing. I must use that. Thanks for the support. I’m hoping it’s just a matter of getting it rolling. Arrgghh!!

  6. How do you write about nothing and NOT bring The Neverending Story into it? Where is a giant dragon that looks like a puppy? And Bastien! Save us from the Nothing!

    1. Because I tried to rid that movie from my mind. Thank you soooo bloody much. The Neverending Stoooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyyy.

        1. So a fan, huh? 😀 I don’t actually remember that movie very well. But the song was annoying.

  7. Good luck! I hope to buzz by most days to see your masterpieces, but I have a lot of bloggers I follow who are attempting the same brave feat, so it’s possible I’ll miss a few. But you impress me with your fortitude. 🙂

    1. Really? A lot of them are doing this? I mean I follow a lot of bloggers, but I thought I was totally original. I mean after copying Speaker who copied Jen . . .

      1. Haha. You always make me laugh. Which is why I always try to stop by. 🙂

  8. Now I need to watch Up for the zillionth time. “Squirrel.” Nice post. Can’t wait to see what comes next!

    1. Thanks. That dog is the best part of that movie.

  9. “Hi, my name is Doug. I’m a talking do— SQUIRREL!” Can I just mention how much I love that movie?!

    Also. Good start. Keep it up! 🙂

    1. Thank you. I think it can only go up from here. I hope. “My name is Dug. I have just met you and I love you.”

  10. If you could describe the squirrel in great detail, I bet you’d get your 1600 words. Everyone would hate you, but that just adds to the writerly thing.

    1. It was a dark and stormy squirrel. He had a tail. And a head. And a face. A sneaky face. A face that said “I’m eating your nuts and I don’t give a crap.”

      1. Dark and stormy Squirrel don’t give a damn.

    2. I feel like I totally should do Nano now.

Leave a Reply

