2012: A Year in Blog Posts

People are reflectin’ on 2012 all over the place.  Usually I forget what I did yesterday, but with a blog, you have all those memories stored up for you.  Well, you do if you write about anything sane, which I rarely do.  But still, it’s fun to take a look back in time.  (Cue wavy lines)

2012

January

New Years Eve post – Resolutions are easier if you set standards low.  Really low.  (12/01/01)

Job Search Fun – I try for a new job at my old job (12/01/26)

Febuary

Not sure what happened here.  Maybe I slept.

March

The Big Red Atomic Dog – I start writing reviews of awful Children’s TV.  In this one, I ponder how Clifford got so big (12/03/30)

Steroids or Radiation Exposure?

Steroids or Radiation Exposure?

April

Woman at the Well – I retell a random Bible story.  Badly.  (12/04/20)

May

Time Management! – This won’t help you. (12/05/07)

TIME MANAGEMENT!

Get your priorities straight

June

View from a Trampoline – I figure out I’m not 12 anymore (12/06/11)

July

You Suck: Helpful Advice for Writers – I dispense learnings from my writing class.  (12/07/18)

Penguin’s Progress – How things don’t get done at a university or why I stay with my old job.  My first post after my switch from blogger to WordPress– (2012/07/30)

August
Zombies are among us, people.

Zombies are among us, people.

50 Shades of Beating a Dead Horse – I decide to recap the 50 Shades series despite countless warnings and many others beating me to it.  I am an idiot.  (2012/08/06)

More 50SoG?  Yes, No, Who invited you to the party? – I ponder whether to continue the series.  And I give 50 SoG the psychopath test.  Guess who passes with flying colors???? (2012/08/20)

50SoG Interviews Taylor: I start interviewing 50 Shades fictional characters.  Speaker 7, her mind clearly blown by her recaps, links to me and I get semi-famous! (12/8/22)

September
All signs point to: not likely

All signs point to: not likely

Your Weekly Horoscope – I make up horoscope readings.  I am still getting hits from people wanting actual readings.  (12/09/07)

The Cool Table – my first post on Canvas of the Minds.  (12/09/09)

Queen of the Mucus People – beginning of my series “Fun with Lung Disease” (12/09/30)

October
Who invited these guys?

Who invited these guys?

Curious Alice Visits the Hospital Part One – Pneumonia sucks.  (12/10/02)

50 Shades Flunked: Back to School – I grade E.L. James on her third book.  Not pretty. (12/10/15)

An Alice Halloween Special – Worship the Great Pumpkin at the patch of your choice.  (12/10/31)

November
Wow, look at that wave . . . arghhhhhhhhhh!

Wow, look at that wave . . . arghhhhhhhhhh!

The Seneca Scourge by Carrie Rubin: A Review – There are still good books out there, you guys.  (12/11/02)

My Hurricane Post (12/11/04) – My totally unhelpful reflection on Hurricane Sandy

Alice’s Inspiring Movember Post (12/11/06) – There’s a picture of male anatomy and a pumpkin with a mustache.

Alice’s Thanksgiving Special (12/11/22) – Pilgrims, Indians, Turkey, and Smallpox

Heyyyy, Squanto was hot!

Heyyyy, Squanto was hot!

Alice’s Press Release Blurbs (12/11/18) – You like me!  You really like me!

Twilight Movie Recap Part One (12/11/30) – I review Twilight with my darling, snark-filled children.

December
Reindeer Games

Reindeer Games

Alice’s Letter to Santa (12/12/12) – Alice starts her blackmail campaign against Santa.

Alice’s Christmas Special (12/12/25) The story of Jesus and Santa.

Wow, what a trip down that rabbit hole of memory lanes.  Clearly, so much happened in 2012, as revealed in those blog posts that I’m sure you clicked on instead of skipping to the bottom.  Like I applied for a job and got pneumonia and reviewed a bunch of awful books.  Oh, and there was a hurricane.  Let no one say Alice does not have a handle on news we can all appreciate.  Or something.
Make way for 2013.

22 responses

  1. I think we need to dig deeper into February. I’m curious to know just what happened that entire month.

    1. It is curious. What’s funny is that I remember absolutely none of October, yet I’ve got dozens of posts for that month. Huh.

    1. Enjoy, ha. I just noticed your cat in the St Paddy’s hat. Is it March already?

  2. What a year. Not to be taken lightly. (except the 50 Shades part. That part was a bit grey).

    1. Also black and blue. And stupid. Is that a color?

      1. Yes, that’s a colour too. It’s a hue of “lack of common sense”.

  3. February – famous for Opium cropping…
    Well, it would explain the rest of the year 😉

    1. You know, it would. It would explain SO MUCH.

  4. What a great way to sum up a blogging year. I never think of clever things like this, so instead, I just ignore all my blog milestones.

    I enjoyed reading the ‘You Suck: Helpful Advice for Writers’ post. I think you’re onto something…

    1. Well, you know I’m an expert what with all my published books . . . wait. I know, I’ll just write writing books instead!

      1. If you write them, people will come…

  5. I pretty much got caught not working today as I read 12, no 11, months of Alice and snorted every time I tried to not laugh out loud. Maybe they’ll think I’m getting a cold…. Anyway, total hilarity. I must now go find dry pants.

    P.S. There were two I couldn’t get to (Job Search Fun & Alice’s Inspiring Movember Post).

    1. Thanks! Sounds like one of my productive days at work. Sorry about the broken links. I fixed them. 😀

  6. Oh, I’d say it’s quite a successful year, Alice. And, you need to sleep, too. No worries about February. You more than made up for it with the 50 Shades series. It’s been a great year for you! I won’t even attempt to recap the year. I’m just ready to move on to 2013.

    1. Me too. I think. I slept today. Still recovering from Christmas-apocalypse. It’s been a good year for you as well! See you next year.

  7. Excellent post Alice you have come far…ok I skipped to the bottom but now I shall go into some of those posts that I have haven’t read.. Kudos to me for honesty! 🙂

    1. Yes, kudos! Some of the earliest ones have some weird formatting issues. Note: Blogger does not approve you switching to WordPress. Those guys need to work their issues out. 😀

  8. Well Alice, you presented me just now with a nearly insurmountable challenge. I have a bit of catching up to do…

  9. Febuary must have been a monster month to keep you away from blogging. More about our adventures there please.

    1. I guess I could make some up . . .

Leave a Reply

