My MLS Degree: An Experiment in Abnormal Psychology: The Final Chapter!

The saga finally ENDS.  Click here for part one, two, and three.

To the peeps still with me . . . . anyone?  Anyone?

To the peeps still with me . . . . anyone? Anyone?

Second Fall Semester (Aug 2009 – Dec 2009) Portfolio of Doom

·         Last classes!  I sign up for Advanced Children’s Literature and YA (yes, more kiddie lit.  They never said what electives we had to sign up for.  I went for easy.)  Also, I take the dreaded Library Management with Dr. S.

·         I die laughing over Dr S’s rules for class.  My favorite: We do not service patrons.  That is a sexual act.  Haha.  Clearly the poor man has been there too long.

·         Immediately the stupid people in class start making idiotic comments.  I wait for Dr. S.  to pounce.  He doesn’t.  And some of them are just asking for it.

·         Advanced Kid Lit is run exactly the same way as Multicultural Kid Lit and regular Kid Lit.  I love Dr. V.’s classes.  Especially how she tells us to remember the honor policy and not use our books on the quizzes.  She had to be kidding right?  Not that I really need the book, but it’s fun to go wild and flout the rules.

What?

What?

·         Now is the time for the PORTFOLIO.  It’s like Thesis, only you don’t get two semesters to take it and you do it along with two other classes.  If you don’t pass it, you don’t get your degree.  Since this is such a major deal, they decide to send us to Denton for the Fall Festival on a lark.  We are going to learn all about the PORTFOLIO here.

·         We learn a whole lot.  Like how to get confused.  First they put us up at a hotel that is all the way across Denton and costs 3 times as much as the ones that are close by the university.  My poor mother and I get so lost we nearly lose it.  Finally she dumps me at the restaurant with my luggage.

·         We spend the first evening griping about how much we hate our professors.  Well, most of us.  A few nerds go and do actual productive homework.

·         At the Fall Festival (which sounds way more festive than it is) we are lectured on how the PORTFOLIO works.  And we get more confused.  Also, Kathy points out that over 50 percent of students fail the PORTFOLIO the first time.  How helpful!

·         From what I can tell from the slide show (that could have just been emailed to us) we have to put together some work products that go along with the professional development paper that is a rehash of the professional agenda which is a paper full of B.S. about what we’re going to do with our degrees.  I personally plan on curing Cancer and building huts in Africa.

Me after Library Science Degree.

Me after Library Science Degree.

·         I decide that, according to the paper, I’m going to be a youth librarian, since I’ve taken all these kiddie lit courses.  It sure sounds better than admitting I took them because they were easier.  And that I don’t actually like children that much.

·         Kathy decides that we should give Dr. G. a gift to thank her for all the insanity.  When no one goes for it, she says it’s a group gift and demands 10 bucks from each one of us.  I pretend my wallet is in my other red cohort bag.

·         We do a leadership activity involving a personality quiz using a scary Satanic-looking Pentagram.  This is supposed to make being a leader so much easier.  I’m sure that selling one’s soul to Satan makes things infinitely easier.  It sure explains my boss.

Per-so-na-li-ty, Per-so-na-li-ty!

Per-so-na-li-ty, Per-so-na-li-ty!

·         People organize themselves into different numbers relating to their personalities.  Unfortunately, some people do not know themselves.  At all.  My boss puts herself in with another cohort, peace loving hippie Jane.  Ah, of course.

·         Dr. Golden explains that she is a “1” because she’s a perfectionist.  This is very true.  She never stops screwing up until she’s got it done exactly right.

·         We get back home and start working on our PORTFOLIOS.  Dr. G. offers to proofread our papers and give suggestions.  She looks at one page of mine and tells me I’m totally off the mark.  But not how.  Great!

·         My boss goes into full on whacked out panic mode.  While I’ve always known she’s nuttier than a fruitcake, most of the staff is now giving her the same berth as one would a live hand grenade.  Methinks she’s worried that she’s not smart enough to pass.  Bwahahaha.

The F stands for Fantastic!

The F stands for Fantastic!

·         No one does much on their regular course work.  Freaking out over the PORTFOLIO takes precedence.  My boss has my 6th grade English teacher proofread her paper.  God rest that woman’s soul.  Afterward, my boss has to paste on a smile and put back together the shreds of her “paper”.  Aws!

·         The papers go in.  We wait for our scores like people do for biopsy results.  There is just no way any of us can survive doing this thing again.  They finally send back the results with much fan fare.  Next to my name are the words: PASS.  No comments.  Nothing.  Just PASS.  I find out my boss passed as well.  Clearly, they exaggerated the difficulty of passing this thing.

·         Next comes preparation for graduation.  We discover that they aren’t paying a dime for graduation.  Most of the cohort is a-okay with paying for silly gowns, a hotel room, travel expenses, etc. to stand in line for hours and walk across a stage.  Two other mutineers and I say to hell with that.  I’ve already been through 3 ceremonies.  People are bored with me graduating by now.

·         I am invited into an honor society.  For 100 bucks everyone can know how smart I am.  Or they can just look at my transcript for free.  I figure there is some sort of intelligent process to this, but nope, they just draw names randomly from a list.  Which means some people with 3.75 get in while some 4.0s are left out.  Makes sense to me.  Some cohorts are really mad that they don’t get the cheesy honor cord.  Those are useful.  My girls used mine from my last degree as a jump rope.

Uses for Honor Cords . . .

Uses for Honor Cords . . .

·         The message boards get more and more tedious.  Some fellow students in Library Management start talking about making library tree houses.  I guess they’re going to have Tinkerbell checking out the books?  Dr. S lets that go.  He should have insulted those people for their own good and the good of society.  The dean has apparently had him fixed somehow.

·         Last up in that class is a group project that the group members – one is named “Missie” – take way too seriously.  I know it’s too late in the semester for him to read it.  My daughter is ill and in the hospital.  I’m still expected to do my share.  Good luck with that.

·         I have several job applications in but no interviews or offers yet.  I have to fax a paper to the grad school saying I’m not going to graduation.  My boss interrogates me on my use of the fax machine.  Despite not having a job lined up, I give my notice the next day.  It’s either that or the Looney Bin.

·         My boss takes such delight in my notice that she fails to realize that I work more hours than any other part timer and never take vacations.  They have no idea how to fill in all the hours I worked.  Merry Christmas!

Nanner, nanner!

Suckerrrrrrrrrs!

·         Graduation time!  The others take off.  I stay home and relax for the first time in a couple of years.  I find out later that my boss says that she has NO IDEA why I might have quit and is CONCERNED.  The other cohorts are deeply suspicious of us mutineers who didn’t go to the ceremony and have FUN.   Oh, well, don’t have to see them again.

·         Oh, wait.  There’s still one more TLA.  Hey, didn’t we graduate already?

A-gain?

A-gain?

TLA 2010: FUN with Leadership

·         The previous December, I received an early Christmas present.  After only a few dozen (it seemed like) interviews, I got offered a job at the university library in Special Collections.  I’m still not totally sure what that is, but since I was ready to mop the floors of the place just to get a position there, I’m thrilled.

·         My new boss turns out to be the polar opposite of Mrs. Satan.  She actually likes my work and tells me so.  My training under the Evil One has not prepared me for this.  It takes me a while to adjust to not getting in trouble every single day.

·         Yet despite having graduated, I’m not completely free – I still have this one last conference with her.   I forgot to check the fine print.  Turns out there’s going to be a leadership conference at TLA just for us.  It’s Tall Texans, only not, because we don’t actually get the title.  Just two days of meetings.  Oh, joy.

Kill meee . . .

Kill meee . . .

·         A fellow cohort Linda – one of the Three Mutineers – and I can’t imagine what leadership skills these wackos are going to impart to us.  We start googling leadership games and laugh ourselves silly.  Possible leadership activities: wrapping ourselves in Saran Wrap, pulling off pieces of toilet paper, sitting on one another’s laps, fighting with pool noodles, butt head tag, and an activity that involves yelling the word “Hooowaa!”  I swear I am not making these up.

·         We make it to the final TLA with the cohort.  This time we are roomed at the Menger Hotel in San Antonio right across from the Alamo.  It is rumored that the upper floors of this hotel are haunted, so my boss and her unfortunate roommate decide to change rooms in hopes of meeting one of the ghosts.  If there were ghosts, I’m sure the ghosts were scared off.

·         The other cohorts start to realize my former boss isn’t quite right.

She's freaking NUTS!

She’s freaking NUTS!

·         At the first meeting, I get to tell everybody about my brand new super job that I love and my awesome boss.  My former boss tries to force a smile, and her face cracks.

·         As it turns out, we don’t get to do any of the fun leadership activities.  Mostly we listen to boring stuff that I can’t remember.  At one point my boss asks if people who are no longer at public libraries should be allowed to be at this activity, or to breathe, or something like that.  She looks right at me.

·         Fellow cohort Linda and I mouth “Hoowaa” to each other during the boring workshop and try not to giggle like eight-year-olds.

·         The leadership meeting finally ends.  Now on to the actual conference.  Weee.

·         I do try to go to as many of the conferences that are related to Special Collections (turns out these are archives) as I can, but most of them turn out fairly useless.  The speakers are not prepared, and don’t even have enough handouts.  It’s like being back in school.

·         I visit the Alamo and realize that it is wedged between several huge hotels.  Kind of takes the mystery and awe out of this symbol of our independence.

It's there somewhere . . .

It’s there somewhere . . .

·         It is next to impossible to catch a shuttle to the conference center, since they only run once or twice a day.  So I get a lot of walking in back and forth.  This involves cutting through a mall, darn the luck.  I discover Macy’s.

·         This time I get a roommate who has to leave early for a funeral.  Sad for her, but happy for me.  I get a room to myself for a while.

·         I run into my former boss over and over, but it gets easier.  I can tell she’s frustrated that I am out from under her thumb.  And happy.  At one point I smile her right out of the room.

·         Finally, TLA ends.  And so does the online MLS experience.  Hooowaaa!

28 responses

  1. I am so impressed with your smarties, WT. I’ll make some jello, and we can visit the Alamo together and moon people.

    1. That would be totes awesome. Remember the Alamo? Remember THIS!

  2. Boo old boss! Later, bitch!

    1. Yup! It was so funny when I heard they couldn’t find anyone to replace me. Then all their long term responsible employees (like 4 years or more) quit after I did – one by one – over the next year. Because they then had to work my hours. And I didn’t do weekends for them. Now they have teens who don’t give a flip. Haha!

      1. Hey, that’s what happens.

  3. what an ordeal! A very opposite experience to my own MLS journey!

    1. Oh, yeah? I’d like to hear about yours. Did you do online or in person?

      1. in person – I had never been involved with my undergrad schooling – so I quit my jobs and threw myself into the graduate experience (working as a GAT, student library reference person, volunteered at the Historical Society), Secretary for the Student Library Assoc, internships – the whole shebang. It was a great experience – I met people that are still close friends today. I even taught a midwinter class after graduating. Our program was going thru accreditation at the time so that was ‘interesting’ 🙂 – my favorite was going to ALA and working in the Public Information Office – I got to meet all sorts of news journalists!

        1. Wow, that does sound cool. I did enjoy the TLA conferences once I got there. They were good experiences. And I met a few fun people, though we haven’t kept in touch. Getting it free, except for books, was also an obvious plus. But man, those guy put the dis in disorganized!

          1. Well, it wasn’t all sunshine and roses – but I made it the best experience I could at the time!

  4. “over 50 percent of students fail the PORTFOLIO the first time”—Good grief, it’s amazing there are any librarians out there at all. Glad those weren’t the odds for my boards…

    1. Yeah, I have no idea where she got that statistic. Believe me, if my old boss could pass it, I’m fairly certain a monkey could do it.

      1. Hopefully your boss doesn’t read your blog. 😉

      2. Maybe it’s 50% in a sense that you either pass it or you don’t.

  5. Entirely online degrees suck ass. I got my first Master’s that way. NEVER AGAIN.

  6. Well done for surviving with your sense of humor intact! 🙂

  7. I bet the organizers got all sorts of congratulations for putting the program together.

    Glad the story had a happy ending! Everything else is worth it just to be able to smile happily at your old boss.

    1. Yes, it was, thanks. And funny thing – I thought you were replying to my booger post at first and was like, hey, a booger organization sounds awesome!

      1. Oh. My. God.
        Where do I sign up???

        1. I have to create it first. I’m busy tweeting this post to freshly pressed.

          1. I’m curious – why is fp such a big deal?
            (I’ve been freshly pressed and didn’t really care for it.)
            (It’s also possible I’m just a jerk.)
            (And they’d be fools not to spotlight your blog.)

          2. Lol. I don’t know. I really really wanted it because everyone else had it and you got the traffic and that whole rush thing and you were big stuff. But now that I’ve been pressed, it’s like whatever. Which is why I’m sending them a completely stupid post just for the fun of it.

            But thank you, Guap.

  8. Having read your post, I’ve learned two things. One: that kitty picture is phenomenal & I have to borrow it!! 😉 Two: I’m rethinking the online degree I want to get for myself. According to Mental Mama & your brilliant post! Now I’m off to find your intriguing booger post. I found that notification in my email & told Inion we have to read that post!! Chat soon………about Boogers! ;P

    1. Booger talk is way more interesting than online degree talk. Although I’m surprised there wasn’t a booger class on my transcript.

  9. There is something fantastic in that feeling of being to smile at an old boss and think “loser!”

    1. It was also nice to hear other people going “What IS it with her?” Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

