Day 3: Battle of New Orleans

Oh, right, it’s day 3 of this wretched 25 days of song.  This one is supposed to be a song that reminds one of a parent(s).  There were a lot I could have chosen, like “Cats in the Cradle”, except my parents weren’t totally absent from my life and that song is quite possibly the worst song ever, ever, ever known to man.  There’s also “Butterfly Kisses” if you want to vomit or “Daddy’s Hands” if you want a song about how your dad beat the crap out of you with love.

I hate this song.  I HATE IT.

I hate this song. I HATE IT.

Then I remembered the song “A Battle of New Orleans”.  This is a really old song, from the 50’s, but that’s okay because it’s about something even older, the War of 1812.  I think of my father when I hear this song because he is a huge history buff, as am I.  The man can name all our presidents, in order, with their vice presidents, and the men who ran against them.

Our country has a short history, but we make it count.  If all you’ve ever seen of American history is a textbook, you are most unfortunate.  I’m not sure how they do it, but somehow textbook writers manage to suck all the interesting parts out of history and leave you with mind numbingly boring facts.  But if you get a good teacher, history comes alive.  It did with my father, who was my first teacher.

One thing America loves more than anything is the tale of the underdog defeating the much larger force.  The British had a huge trained, disciplined fighting force whereas we had a small group of random angry guys.   Of course, the British were already divided what with also fighting Napolean in France at the same time, but nevermind that.  We beat ’em!  Not because we were all that skilled or honorable, but specifically because we were devious little upstarts, which the British probably should have remembered from the Revolutionary War.

They maybe should have rethought their choice of BRIGHT RED UNIFORMS too.

They maybe should have rethought their choice of BRIGHT RED UNIFORMS too.

But wait, this is supposed to be about my father.  Well, one other thing we liked to do together besides talk history was sing.  Neither of us was a particularly good singer, but we liked it anyway.  And this song, “The Battle of New Orleans”, exemplifies both in a catchy song about actual history.  Though they might have made up the part about using an alligator butt as a cannon.

In order to make it more appealing to some of you with intense dislike of country music or history, I have left you a video acting out the song through lego people.  You’re welcome.

 

10 responses

  1. Ha! Love that line about filling the alligators mouth with cannon balls, powdering his behind and when they lit him off the gator lost his mind. Ha! Great song Alice. It brings back memories.

    1. It does. I had forgotten about the alligator part. That would be fun to watch.

  2. I haven’t heard this in a coon’s age. 😉

    1. I know! Isn’t it great? I love the little lego guys. Must have taken him hours to do that. At least I don’t feel as bad about all the time I waste now.

  3. I like the gator-cannon :o) You picked a great song to ponder about an interesting topic. Bravo! btw: probably the british troops knew that they will lose the war and therefore they all including the hessian troops they hired had just a one way ticket?

    1. My dad just told me that the Battle of New Orleans took place like two weeks after the British formally surrendered so it wasn’t even necessary. The one time when a cell phone might have come in handy.

  4. The only music I could associate with my father is military music… 😛 Wait! You’d sing WITH your father!? I mean HE would SING with you?? 😛

    1. Yes! When I was younger anyway. Drove my brother up the wall.

  5. Yeah… War of 1812… The one where the US of A tried to invade Canada.. fun times.

  6. Actually the British did not surrender. A Peace Treaty was signed in Ghent, Belgium on Dec 24, 1814. The treaty however stated a state of war still existed until both governments had ratified it. The USA did not ratify the Treaty until Feb 18, 1815. Oh — and a note on the color of uniforms back then — it didn’t matter what color they were because of the type of weapons and tactics EVERYONE used at the time, so a red coat was just as good a “target” as a blue one! Just the facts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

