Dream Mother

To Dion’s (a la Runaround Sue) “Dream Lover”

I bet Dion’s mommy made him all those sweaters.

 

Dream Mother

 

Every night I hope and pray a dream mother will come and stay

A mom to do my all my chores  so I can lay back and snore

 

Because I want, a mom, to take care of me

I want a dream mother, so I don’t have to be an adult

 

Dream mother, where are you?

This life is more than I can chew

I want your hand to hold

Like when I was a ten-year-old

 

Because I want, a mom, to pay my bills

I want a dream mother, so I don’t have to go to work

 

Some day, I don’t know when

I’m gonna be a kid again

So what about Thing One and Two?

Well, she can be their mom too

 

Because I want, a mom, to do my laundry

I want a dream mother, so I don’t have to wash undies

 

Dream mother, you aren’t real

How am I supposed to feel?

I can’t take care of me

Maybe I can get a nanny?

 

Because I want, a mom, to live my life

I want a dream mother, so I can finally take a nap

8 responses

  1. I’d settle for being independently wealthy so that I could just not go to work and spend my time doing fun things. And washing underwear.

    1. Washing underwear is fun? I like the independently wealthy. Maybe I could try money laundering. Boooooo.

  2. I’d settle for a dream chef. Sigh.

    1. Oh, Chef Boyardee, take me awayyyy.

      1. Ha, it’s been a while since I’ve had that stuff. A good thing, I’m sure!

  3. Awww, thing#1 and thing#2 would so miss you. Who else would make a video of the favorite toys and post it?

    1. I said she could be their mom too. 🙂

  4. I’d also settle for being wealthy. And since I already have a washing machine, washing undies hasn’t been a problem. Drying them is, however, since some birds made a nest in our laundry exhaust, and that would require a dream ornithologist/repairman to fix.

Leave a Reply

