Frozen Lego Castle Review or Maybe I Should Stick to Duplo

I saw a cute little lego castle – and it was Frozen, so I thought GREAT. I bought it before the scalpers could jump the price up to even higher than legos are normally priced.  I figured, hey, the girls and I love Frozen and building the thing together should be tons of fun!

I am very dumb sometimes!

See, what I didn’t realize was that the castle would be so small.  By small I mean like slightly over microscopic.  This is not to say there is no detail, oh no.  There is a LOT of detail.  Like 5 thousand pieces worth or so.  The box claims there are only 292 pieces, but I think they’re lying.  I personally would have given up on the first level (yeah there are three) but luckily I had Thing Two with me, the Master Builder.

Objects may be tinier than they appear

Objects may be tinier than they appear

You might notice on the box that it says this set is for ages 6-12.  WTF.  I happen to be much older than 12, and I was about to lose it.  I can only imagine a six year old putting this thing together, unless said six year old is incredibly brilliant and dexterous and comes from Oz which is probably also a set made by Lego in 5 billion pieces.  My Thing Two is ten, and yes happens to be brilliant, so brilliant she made her own youtube channel right under my nose on the computer in the living room after I told her not to do it and also made her own videos which I don’t even know how to do.  I didn’t discover this until 2 months later.  That’s how to be a “with-it” parent, you guys.

In this instance, her devious tenacity came in very handy.  After only 6 or 70 hours or so, we had the entire thing together.  By “we”, I mean “she”, although she did allow me to put some pieces in, as she said “So you can feel involved, Mommy.”  Here is a picture of our fabulous work.

It's the size of my freaking hand - my real hand.  That is not a stunt hand.

It’s the size of my freaking hand – my real hand. That is not a stunt hand.

It really is a very neat set.  It comes with three figures – Anna, Elsa, and Olaf.  Olaf gets his own picnic set like in the movie, which was great cause I could just shove him over to the side that way.  There’s also a sled which Anna and Elsa can ride, as well as ice skates, and skis, and a tiny hill they can slide down or hide cookies inside, if they choose.  I don’t know why they’d choose this, but whatever.

You’ll notice the side of the castle has some cool stairs.  Those were neat.  There’s also a tree.  Don’t ask Thing Two about the tree.  It about drove even her over the edge since the instructions told us in intimate detail how to put together the three parts of Elsa but not any steps on making the dumb tree.

Inside on the first floor is an ice cream and popsickle machine.  I don’t recall this being in the movie, but then again, Elsa had no furniture that I could tell in the movie.  I guess she was too busy running around doing dramatic Broadway numbers to care.  Anyway, it’s cute.

The whole set.  Note the giant hill Ana can slide down - ooooh.

The whole set. Note the giant hill Ana can slide down – ooooh.

Upstairs you’ve got Elsa’s balcony so she can belt out her “Let it Go” tune for the 564,493,206 time.  Also she has a bed and a book to read – it looks like it’s the Snow Queen.  I bet she didn’t like the reading there.  There’s probably a reason they named the villain after the original author.

On the top story there’s mostly just a seat and a torch.  Not sure how the torch doesn’t burn down the castle, but I guess it’s her magical powers and all that.  Anna has a torch to hold as well, in case she gets mad at Elsa and decides to test those magical powers.  Elsa was supposed to have a frozen scepter, though that got left out of the set.  Fortunately we have an extra arm for Olaf, more giant cookies, and other extras we didn’t need to make up for it.

Kristoff, Sven (he’s the reindeer), and my favorite sociopath, Prince Hans, are not in this set.  I hope they make another set soon so I can add them to my collection after Thing Two builds it for me.  Right now, the three have to play with Vadar whose head fell off and a Ninjago figure.  She does have some handcuffs, though, which will come in handy when we get a Hans figure.

Hope you enjoyed this review and be warned.  Legos are cool, but evil.

 

9 responses

  1. That is actually a decent price…you should see how pricey The Beatles Lego’s are. Yikes.

  2. Having gone through the Hogwart’s Lego nightmare, no more kits for us. 50 million microscopic pieces that frustrated my kid to no end because the #$@ thing kept falling apart. The Lego engineers needed to spend a little more time developing that one. Most of it eventually ended up in my vacuum cleaner.

  3. Oh dear lord. I have an architectural Lego set that I got in Minneapolis that I’ve been too afraid to try yet, and now I’m scared to even go look at how many pieces it has. However, I am rather fond of Nanoblocks which are way tinier than most of the Legos and have a ridiculous number of pieces for such small finished products.

  4. Dude, that thing’s the size of your hand. 292 pieces? Those pieces must have been dust particles.

  5. I Never made that villain name connection before, lol.

  6. Back in my day, there weren’t “Lego Sets” there were just Legos, and your imagination!

    J/K there probably were sets, but I didn’t care about them. I just wanted to BUILD! I think I would have been pretty bummed about that castle’s stature, though.

  7. Good thing you had Thing Two or you’d have been lost. I wonder why they make them so small? Generally, in production, shrinking things comes at a cost. i would imagine they could have made it cheaper if they’d have made it bigger. Cool purchase Alice. And has anyone ever told you that you would make an excellent hand model?

  8. Yikes, that is tiny! Congratulations to Thing Two for finishing it, and also for her YouTube channel.

    I wonder if they’ll be doing Lego sets for 50 Shades when the films come out?

  9. Yes! I feel compelled to buy this now! I’m not sure if that was the impact you were hoping for…

Leave a Reply

