Cute Frozen Packages Tied Up in String

These are a few of my favorite things!  I just remembered that I’ve still got more of this Gratitude stuff to do.  Like six days worth.  I can do it!  Though I might not have if it hadn’t been for blind boxes.  No these are not boxes for the blind, although I suppose they too could open them up if they wanted – I mean they’d probably be able to feel through the bag and know what it is.  But that’s the point.  You buy this thing, and have no idea what’s inside.  It could be any of – in the case of the ones we selected – one of 17 different little figurines.  They have all kinds of these surprise boxes and bags and yes it is so much like Christmas it’s actually entertaining (if you’re strange) to watch other people unwrap them on youtube.  When I first heard about these videos, I thought they were stupid.  But now I figure they are at least as important on the Important Things Meter as, say, cute kitten videos.

Who wouldn't want a bunch of random decaying zombie figures???

Who wouldn’t want a bunch of random decaying zombie figures???

So with a choice of everything from My Little Pony to The Walking Dead to Game of Thrones (right in the kiddie section of Hastings!) I chose something shocking.  Yeah I got Frozen blind boxes.  I used to be a little embarrassed about liking this Disney movie so much, especially since so many people (most of them parents of toddlers and small children) hate this movie and the merchandise with a horrible, seething passion.  I get it, I mean I had to watch Thomas the Freaking Tank Engine movie about 5,000 times, and that’s way worse than Frozen.  The train didn’t even sing “Let it go!  Let it go!” (Come on everybody, join in!  Wait, is that a sharpened icicle you’re throwing at me?)

Anyway, I’ve been having a rough time of it as you’ve gathered from some of my posts.  Sad Pony and Squirrel playing ping-pong with my brain has gotten really, really old.  So I thought I’d pick up a random box because I LOVE surprises and they were out at Barnes and Noble but they said they’d save me a few on the next shipment.  My husband went to pick them up – and came back with an entire case – 12 in all.  They cost uh so many er bucks a piece which equals – slightly more than I intended to spend.

Ta-da! Give thanks for mass consumerism!

Ta-da! Give thanks for mass consumerism!

But my husband doesn’t ask questions, he just does, so here I was with a box of these overpriced plastic things and felt kinda guilty until my big Things saw the big box and got all excited.  I told them firmly “We are just going to open up one blind box a day.”

Frozen: The Aftermath

Frozen: The Aftermath

Yeahhhhh . . . we have the self control of your average two-year-old.  We started with one a piece.  Then two a piece.  Then heck with it, mass hysteria!  It was so awesome, like Christmas morning.  I figured with my luck we would get 12 of the exact same figure and it’d be one of those freaking trolls.  But lo, we got 12 DIFFERENT ones, out of 17.  Pretty good!  Now there were like 2 grown Elsas, and 3 of the stupid snowman, but each one was in a different pose and stuff so yeah, all different!

Aren't they cute?  I even let the girls have some of them.

Aren’t they cute? I even let the girls have some of them.

We’re missing one already – lost in our Game of Frozen Thrones melee which involved one of them riding a blind bag My Little Pony wildly through the bed sheets.  There’s also one strange one we call Demented Anna cause her head is turned all the way around like in the Exorcist, which I’m not sure if Disney intended or not, but it’s hella weird.

Demented Anna

Demented Anna – she’s one in a million!

I think I like her MOST OF ALL.  Anyhoo, I was gonna obey these stupid gratitude suggestions.  They happen to fit in perfectly!

Day 9: Enjoy the people around you.  Take a moment to appreciate their unique talents, abilities and personalities

I enjoy my Things.  They have the great talent and ability of opening boxes with me and the personality to laugh hysterically with their mom.

Day 10: Pick one of your five senses to focus on each day

I picked everything but vision, until the wrapper was off.  Wheeee!

Day 11: Try to see the world through the eyes of a child.

Done!  I did it through the eyes of two children!

Day 12: Today, make the effort to live life with a positive outlook.

I’m positive we all had a good time, for at least 10 minutes!

Day 13: Pick three friends or family members you see regularly. View their actions and gestures through a positive lens . . .

Reee-petitive!  I am very positive my kids are as bizarre as I am!

Day 14: Write about how the Gratitude Challenge has changed your perspective thus far.

It gave me blog posts to write so I could tell everyone how annoying it is.  Thanks Gratitude Challenge!

And that’s the end of a rather long post (but there were PICTURES).  My last bit o’ gratitude is for the peeps who made it all the way through this post.

Alice

 

11 responses

  1. Ummm, you opened ALL of them at once? You must be fun at Christmas Alice. There’s a measurement that psychologists use called Emotional Intelligence (EI) and the central concept is that you are attributed a higher mark for being able to delay emotional gratification. You should contact them – I bet you’d make a great research paper. You know how in the movies, when ever there is a plague or other equally devastating biological tragedy, they figure out where it came from, who the very first infected was and they call him/her Patient Zero? Well when it comes to EI , I think you may be Patient Zero Alice. This could be big – you could have fame and fortune and live happily ever after. Whatcha think?

    1. Yay for happily ever after and having no emotional intelligence! For more samples of me, try youtube where people film themselves opening every box at once of about a zillion different items!

      I actually had more self-control as a young person, I could save and save for months for something. Now I would totally eat the marshmallows or M&Ms they left out for me at once. YOLO man.

  2. Seems a bit like the Lego mini-figs, only those are in little pouches. But nowhere near as addictive. (says the grown woman who is pissed that she now owns 3 fucking cowboys)

    1. Lol. I really thought I’d get more duplicates. Of course if we try to collect the others – which if we find any out we probably will – then we’ll have doubles. I can send you some stupid snow men for the stupid cowboys.

      1. The two “extra” cowboys are at work, wrangling squirrels right now. 🙂

  3. Anna looks like she’s peeing standing up. Is there something they didn’t tell us in the movie?

    1. I think there are so many unanswered questions from that movie. Like what do Elsa’s powers do exactly? Make castles, weapons, dresses . . . create life? With all that Anna should at least be able to pee standing up.

  4. This sounds like a fun opportunity with your kids. Glad it brought you some joy. Surprises are always fun. Unless you’re an introvert and those surprises come in the form of people…

    Don’t feel bad about liking Frozen. It was a good movie. My oldest teen son went with me–it was actually his idea!–and we laughed our heads off. It was Olaf that sold us. So embrace your Frozen love! Just be careful not to sing the song out in public or you might make enemies. 😉

    1. You got your teen son to go? That IS amazing. And I was just waiting for the snowman to be absolutely horrible and annoying but they played it right and he was just amusing enough without overdoing it. I’m also glad the moose did not talk – just Kristoff.

      I have to admit to often humming “Let it go” just to annoy certain people. I can’t help it.

  5. Fret not, Alice. I still love that film.

    I think as comic characters go, I prefer Sven. Although right now, my version of “Reindeers are better than people” is actually “donkeys are better than people”. 😉

    1. I can believe that. Also donkey is the symbol for the Democratic Party, so I like them for that too. And I’m sure they are easier to care for than Elephants. And definitely easier to care for than politicians.

Leave a Reply

