The Anti-Memes

You may remember that once upon a time I made up some anti-awards to combat the approximately 5 billion well-intended but also incredibly annoying WordPress awards that were being passed around (for example: The Sunshine Award, The Chainmail Award, and the Visit My Blog Award). There was a time when you could get six or seven of these a day! And I wasn’t even that popular. I can only imagine what real bloggers got.

I came back with stuff like the Fruitcake Award (passed around but totally useless), and the much more useful Creeper Award. Because everyone knows a creeper.

Feel free to share with the deserving blog of your choice!

Feel free to share with the deserving blog of your choice!

Speaking of creepers, lately I’ve been seeing these memes posted up on Facebook. This has been going on for a while now, but sometimes this is done by my friends with good intentions, and my black hole of a mind just can’t help but immediately think of a smart-alack response. For example, this morning my good friend posted the following meme.

Oh I don't know . . .

Oh I don’t know . . .

Do I love my kids? Of course I do. But there are so many problems with this!  First off, what if I don’t share this?  Does lack of sharing mean I don’t love my daughters?  For another thing, I have two daughters, not one, so do I need to add an “s” to the end or is that already implied? Or should I simply favor one over the other? “I love you, but not you, only so much love kid.” Also you have to ask – are children always blessings? Because sometimes they smart off to you, or worse, your husband by repeating verbatim what the slightly negative thing you said about him last night.
So I came up with my own meme, because the sarcasm is so great in me, and I just can’t let this go.

It’s a fun joke my husband and I have been telling the Things for years. No, really. Don’t call CPS.

There are other memes that annoy me, like the happy clappy ones because why should other people be happy, huh? That’s obnoxious. Tone it down. Also annoying are the DEEP THOUGHTS ones.  Here’s an example I found.

Like that moment you took a long walk off a short pier.

Like that moment you took a long walk off a short pier.

The picture is all pretty and everything, but a little disturbing because when I see any kind of bridge, pier, or whatever, I think “jump” because I’m me. I also ask questions. How deep is that water? Are there jellyfish? Or sharks? Is the water polluted? You just don’t know.

I’m pretty bad at collecting moments, too. I can’t save time in a bottle either. But I am really good at collecting things. Important things. Like boards I broke off from that pier. Watch your step.

I don’t want to rain on anyone’s daughter, but this is just how I am. If the memes make you feel better, then great! To each his own. But I will continue to like ones like this.

My happy message for the day.

My happy message for the day.

 

Alice

21 responses

  1. Yesterday, I saw a woman with a t-shirt that said, “If you think I’m a bitch, you should meet my daughter.” She was not with her daughter in the store, and was old enough to have a grown adult daughter. First, I decided that she was probably a bitch. Then, I decided her daughter probably had a sense of humor and gave her the shirt. I’ll remember to send some snark memes your way in the near future!

    1. Yes, more snark! And either her daughter has a sense of humor or she’s a worse mom than I am. I only threaten to abandon my children in the woods and make up nightmare stories for them.

  2. Lol. This is one of those times when I wish I could like a post more than once.

    1. Thanks! My kids will love my meme. They are little balls of sarcasm.

  3. I hear you. Those ‘share if you truly…’ whatever the case may be bug me. In fact, I’m less likely to share if I see them. The only exception is when it might help someone out, like a missing person alert. But this “we’ll see who really cares about their mother by who shares this” stuff only drives me away. I’m Grumpy Cat right along with you.

    1. I know, it’s like the old chain emails. They should make it more interesting by adding “Share if you agree and you don’t want your face ripped off by a polar bear tomorrow.” I always enjoyed the threatening tones of the emails.

      1. Some are threatening in a very passive aggressive way.

        1. I mean you don’t have to share this meme, but the last person who didn’t share was like in an accident, but don’t worry.

  4. I feel your pain too… Really.

    1. It’s okay. The sun will come out tomorrow. With a little black spot on it. Same old thing as yesterday.

      1. This is true and we will get through the day as always with our kids somehow alive and well lol

  5. Some of them are super annoying. The rest, hmm, I guess I’m guilty as charged…

    1. All in the eye of the beholder. 🙂

  6. I think we need a “Share this meme if you’re annoyed by people constantly asking you to share memes” meme.

    1. Definitely. I still wouldn’t share it, though, because I’m a REBEL.

    1. OMG someone ate your comment!

  7. Share this comment if you hate annoying internet memes!

    1. Like this one! Haha. You should totally make a My Little Pony one that . . . oh wait I’ve got one on the side of my blog already. Share if you like sparkle ponies!

  8. All those pictures of kids with cancer or disabliities and you’re supposed to share or like them to show you care.

    No. Just no. Stop with the stupid emotional blackmail already, Interwebz.

    More snark may only compound the problem but at least we’ll feel better for venting it.

Leave a Reply

