A post

It has been raining here in Texas for the last three days.  A hard, steady rain that just keeps going, making marshland of my yard, making the days dark.  This part of Texas is not supposed to have rain like this.  We are semi-arid, which means desert plus occasional flash floods and tornadoes.  No wonder the people at Seattle Grace Hospital have so many problems.  The rain.  Rain killed McDreamy.

I mention to my Thing One, “There are more suicides in Seattle than Alaska.  Cause snow reflects light and rain doesn’t.  Fun fact!”

Thing One: I’m getting you some sugar, Mom.

I’m not suicidal.  I’m just here.  I have ups and downs.  Right now it is down.  I wish it would stop raining.  I don’t like going out in it.  But I need a soda.  It’s not crack, okay, I just want it?  Sorry, I thought you were my doctor there.  I put on my coat and boots and wade to my car while the rain pours down.  I get in and sit in the car for a moment while it runs.  I finally get out of park.

I try McDonald’s cause you don’t have to get out of the car.  They seem mysteriously closed.  Is it the storm?  Did they all quit at once?  Whatever it is inconvenient for me. I drive back to Allsups which is closer to my house but I now must walk in.  I am wearing the clothes I wore two days ago.  Plus a sweater I washed with pink so now it is white-ish pink.  Call me Hello Kitty.

I walk in.  I get a soda on sale, the TALLSUP, get it?  Cause it’s big.  And I choose Sprite not cause I like it that much but because it’s late and maybe without the caffeine I might sleep though I doubt it cause naps.  But then I think I would like some water. Cold water. I will spoil myself with cold water.  I walk over and look at the water.  There are lots of kinds of water that probably come out of the tap.  I stare.  And stare.  And choose one.

I walk to the snacks.  I wonder if the lady at the cash register is watching me.  I look awesome.  It’s been a while since I washed my hair, and I scratch my head since one of the kids came home with lice a couple months ago.  Christmas Special coming up. Lice and Other Holiday Tales.  I go to the counter.  The lady is bald, totally bald, no stubble like that chick who sang “Nothing compares to youuuuu.”  I wonder if she has Cancer or is purposely bald.  She asks me if I am having a good day.  Did she sound concerned?

I say, “Yeah.”

7 responses

  1. I agree with you… maybe that is the reason that this rate is very high in our area….

  2. Love you. Keep on keepin’ on.

  3. On the bright side, y’all aren’t getting the ice. ❤

  4. I’m sitting here and feeling like I want to fly to Texas, tell the rain to fuck off, swoop you up so that we can fly high up where we belong, away from depression.
    Love you.

  5. Embrace the Hello Kitty!

  6. Life can be so effin’ irritating at times, right? But it’s awesome on other days, too, sa hang on, Alice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

